Historical review

The Russian Academy of Sciences was established pursuant to the order of the Emperor Peter I (in Russian) by the Decree of the Ruling Senate dated January 28 (February 8), 1724. The Academy was reinstated by the Decree of the President of the Russian Federation dated November 21, 1991 as the supreme scientific institution of Russia.

Books on history of the Academy (in Russian)

The Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) is a civil self-governed non-commercial organization (institution).

The Russian Academy of Sciences functions in compliance with the legislation of the Russian Federation and the Academy Charter.

The Russian Academy of Sciences is the legal successor of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR within the territory of the Russian Federation.

The Russian Academy of Sciences is comprised of scientific organizations (institutions), science support and social organizations. The Academy associates RAS members - full members (academicians) and corresponding members elected by the RAS General Assembly and scientists of the Academy's institutes.

The Russian Academy of Sciences structure is formed on discipline and territorial principles. The Russian Academy of Sciences structure is comprised of discipline and branch specific divisions (RAS divisions), regional RAS divisions and regional RAS scientific research centers.

The Russian Academy of Sciences is empowered with the right to manage its activities, to establish, reorganize and liquidate the constituents thereof. General Assembly of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Presidium of the Russian Academy of Sciences and President of the Russian Academy of Sciences constitute management bodies of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

The Russian Academy of Sciences annually submits to the President of the Russian Federation and the Government of the Russian Federation reports on scientific researches undertaken, scientific and research and engineering results, as well as the proposals on the priority directions of the fundamental and applied science development.

The Russian Academy of Sciences is a legal entity established for an unlimited period. The Academy owns separate assets, has a separate balance sheet, customer accounts with the Federal Treasury agencies, current accounts (including those in foreign currency) with the banks and other credit institutions of the Russian Federation and other countries.

The Russian Academy of Sciences has a seal depicting the National Emblem of the Russian Federation and the full name of the Academy, stamps and letterheads bearing the name of the Academy, trade marks and other attributes of a legal entity, approved and registered in compliance with the procedure stipulated by Law.

Full name of the organization is the Russian Academy of Sciences. Abbreviated name of the organization is RAS.

Russian Academy of Sciences is located at: Moscow, Leninsky Prospekt, 14.

 

 
©РАН 2017

Историческая справка

Российская академия наук учреждена по распоряжению императора Петра I Указом правительствующего Сената от 28 января (8 февраля) 1724 года. Она воссоздана Указом Президента Российской Федерации от 21 ноября 1991 года как высшее научное учреждение России.

Литература по истории Академии

Российская академия наук (РАН) является самоуправляемой некоммерческой организацией (учреждением), имеющей государственный статус.

Российская академия наук действует на основе законодательства Российской Федерации и собственного Устава.

На территории Российской Федерации Российская академия наук является правопреемницей Академии наук СССР.

Российская академия наук имеет в своем составе научные организации (учреждения), организации научного обслуживания и социальной сферы. Она объединяет членов РАН - действительных членов (академиков) и членов-корреспондентов, избираемых Общим собранием РАН, и научных сотрудников учреждений Академии.

Российская академия наук строится по научно-отраслевому и территориальному принципам. В структуру Российской академии наук входят отделения по областям и направлениям науки (отделения РАН), региональные отделения РАН и региональные научные центры РАН.

Российская академия наук наделена правом управления своей деятельностью, правом на создание, реорганизацию и ликвидацию входящих в ее состав организаций. Органами управления Российской академии наук являются Общее собрание Российской академии наук, Президиум Российской академии наук, президент Российской академии наук.

Российская академия наук ежегодно представляет Президенту Российской Федерации и в Правительство Российской Федерации отчеты о проведенных научных исследованиях, научных и научно-технических результатах, а также предложения о приоритетных направлениях развития фундаментальных и прикладных наук.

Российская академия наук является юридическим лицом, созданным без ограничения срока деятельности. Она обладает обособленным имуществом, имеет самостоятельный баланс, лицевые счета в органах Федерального казначейства, текущие счета (в том числе валютные) в банках и иных кредитных организациях Российской Федерации и других государств.

Российская академия наук имеет печать с изображением Государственного герба Российской Федерации и обозначением своего полного наименования, штампы и бланки со своим наименованием, товарные знаки и другие реквизиты юридического лица, утвержденные и зарегистрированные в установленном законом порядке.

Полное наименование организации - Российская академия наук. Сокращенное наименование организации - РАН.

Местонахождение Российской академии наук: г. Москва, Ленинский проспект, 14.


 
©РАН 2016