Library system of the RAS

Scientific libraries available in each research organization of the RAS play the leading role in informational support of research work carries out by the Academy.

Centralization approach constitutes the basis of library system of the RAS, i.e. library of each RAS research institute is included into one of centralized library networks (CLN) organized by field or regional principle.

At present, there are six CLN in the RAS – two field ones and four regional ones. Siberian RAS region library network led by the State Public Scientific and Technical Library of Siberian Branch of the RAS (RAS SB SPSTL), St.-Petersburg region library network led by the Library of Academy of Sciences (LAS), library networks of Ural and Far East Branches of the RAS led by corresponding Central Libraries are among regional CLNs. Field CLN which combines libraries of humanitarian and social institutions of the RAS is led by the Institute of Scientific Information for Social Sciences (INION). The largest CLN serving more than 150 academic institutes is led by the Library for Natural Sciences (BEN) of the RAS.

Centralized subsystems serving scientific centers are included into some RAS CLNs. In particular, RAS SB CLN consists of local library subsystems if the RAS SB: Novosibirsk, Buryat, Irkutsk, Krasnoyarsk, Omsk, Tomsk, and Yakutsk scientific centers. Each of mentioned library subsystem is led by corresponding central scientific library which has status of independent structural subdivision of corresponding scientific center. SB CLN also includes informational and library centers and libraries of research institutes (NIU). Only NIU libraries operate in those cities such Kemerovo, Barnaul, Chita, Kysyl, Tyumen where central scientific libraries are absent.

RAS BEN CLN also includes library subsystems led by central libraries of scientific centers. Such organizational structures exist in Pushchino, Noginsk, Kola, Karelia, and Komi scientific centers.

Functions provided by central libraries of the RAS today are drastically extended as compared with traditional ones. In point of fact they are informational centers purchasing not so much traditional literature as access rights to electronic publications and databases on modern data medium. Central libraries maintain their own servers with catalogues, databases, full-text materials, and links to Internet resources of interest for their users.



©РАН 2018

О библиотечной системе РАН

Библиотеки РАН

Научные библиотеки, имеющиеся в каждой научно-исследовательской организации РАН, выполняют основную работу по информационному обеспечению научных исследований, проводимых Академией наук.

В основу функционирования библиотечной системы РАН положен принцип централизации - каждая библиотека НИИ РАН входит в одну из централизованных библиотечных сетей (ЦБС), организованных по отраслевому или региональному принципу.

В настоящее время в РАН имеется шесть ЦБС - две отраслевые и четыре региональные. К региональным относятся: сеть библиотек сибирского региона РАН, возглавляемая Государственной публичной научно-технической библиотекой Сибирского отделения РАН (ГПНТБ СО РАН); сеть библиотек Санкт-Петербургского региона, возглавляемая Библиотекой Академии наук (БАН), сети библиотек Уральского и Дальневосточного отделений РАН, возглавляемые соответствующими центральными библиотеками. Отраслевая ЦБС, объединяющая библиотеки институтов РАН гуманитарного и общественного направлений возглавляется Институтом научной информации по общественным наукам. Наиболее крупную ЦБС, обслуживающую более 150 академических институтов, возглавляет Библиотека по естественным наукам (БЕН) РАН.

Внутри ряда ЦБС РАН, в свою очередь, имеются Централизованные подсистемы, обслуживающие научные центры. В частности, ЦБС СО РАН состоит из локальных библиотечных подсистем СО РАН: Новосибирского, Бурятского, Иркутского, Красноярского, Омского, Томского и Якутского научных центров. Каждую из указанных библиотечных подсистем возглавляет центральная научная библиотека, имеющая статус самостоятельного структурного подразделения научного центра. В состав ЦБС СО также входят информационно-библиотечные центры и библиотеки научно-исследовательских институтов (НИУ). В городах, где нет центральных научных библиотек: Кемерове, Барнауле, Чите, Кызыле, Тюмени, функционируют только библиотеки НИУ.

Библиотечные подсистемы, возглавляемые центральными библиотеками научных центров, имеются и в составе ЦБС БЕН РАН. Такая организационная структура имеется в Пущинском, Ногинском, Кольском, Карельском, Коми научных центрах.

Функции, которые выполняют центральные библиотеки РАН в современных условиях, существенно расширены по сравнению с традиционными библиотечными. Они являются, по сути, информационными центрами, приобретающими не только, а в последнее время и уже не столько традиционную литературу, сколько права доступа к электронным публикациям и базы данных на современных носителях. Центральные библиотеки поддерживают собственные сервера, на которых представлены каталоги, базы данных, полнотекстовые материалы, ссылки на ресурсы Интернет, представляющие интерес для их пользователей.

 
©РАН 2016